Roles are removed or deleted in Table View. Hover over the role name that requires deletion, click the three dots icon, and select "Delete":

 

Roles can also be deleted from a role card. To open a role card click on the role in either circles or table view. Next, click on the three dot icon in the top-right of the card and select "Delete Role":